Ghana losses the rights to host the 2018 Africa Women Cup of Nations


Ghana, the host for the 2018 African Women Cup of Nations (AWCON), have lost that privilege after the Confederation of African Football (CAF) took the decision due to inadequate preparation for the tournament. 

The tournament is just three months away and CAF is not impressed with the progress of work at the selected venues for the competition, hence the decision to strip Ghana of the hosting rights. 

Talks are underway with other countries to take over from Ghana, the President for CAF, Ahmad Ahmad has revealed. 

Announcement of a new host for the 2 week competition will be made at the Extraordinary General Assembly CAF meeting in Egypt. 

A team from CAF was in the country to inspect the proposed stadia (Accra Sports Stadium and the Cape Coast Stadium) for the tournament but noticed that the Accra Stadium was not match fit and didn’t look likely to be ready by the beginning of the tournament. After deliberations with the CAF inspection team, the Local Organizing Committee (LOC) proposed to replace the Accra Stadium with either the Kumasi or Tamale stadiums, a move CAF was not comfortable with. They have therefore decided to look elsewhere for a host. “We are engaging several countries and should be able to announce a host during the CAF Extraordinary General Assembly in Egypt next month,” Mr. Ahmed Ahmad revealed on Sunday.

READ ALSO: (VIDEO) Isaac (the Royal Storm) Dogboe retains WBO title belt by finishing Hidenori Otake in Round One

The Government of Ghana sent a delegation of top officials some 2 weeks ago, led by Mr. Isaac Asiamah, MP/Minister for Youth and Sports, to visit the President of CAF in his home country of Madagascar, to try and assure CAF that the Accra Stadium will be ready in time to host the tournament, but this meeting didn’t yield any positive results.

Nigeria, Cameroon, Mali, Equatorial Guinea, Zambia, South Africa and Algeria have already qualified for the 8-team tournament which will run from the 17th of November to the 1st of December 2018.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here