Justice Anin-Yeboah has been sworn in as Chief Justice of the Republic of Ghana

Vice President Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia (L), Chief Justice Anin Yeboah (M) President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo (R)

Justice Anin Yeboah has been sworn into office as the 14th Chief Justice of the Republic of Ghana by the President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo.

Speaking during the investiture, President Akufo-Addo stated that the presence of almost all Justices of the Supreme Court during the vetting of the Chief Justice by Parliament was an honourable gesture and added that he should be given the same support. 

READ ALSO: TODAY IN HISTORY: President Nana Addo delivers ‘plagiarized’ swearing-in speech…WATCH

President said; “I am hopeful that this same level of support will be forthcoming as he assumes the mantle of the Head of the Judiciary. To his colleagues on the bench and members of the Bar, I urge your continued solidarity and corporation with the new Chief Justice to promote the rule of law. That will be in line with the finest traditions of the Bench and the Bar and will help enhance the welfare of our people”. 

President Akufo-Addo further stated that he expects “decency, discipline, fairness, hard work, deep-seated respect for the rule of law and the continuing modernization of Judicial activities to be the hallmarks of his tenure as Chief Justice”.

Chief Justice Anin Yeboah on his part stated that he is Honoured to be appointed as Chief Justice of Ghana. 

Chief Justice Anin Yeboah

He thanked the President, the Council of State and Parliament for the various constitutional roles they played leading up to his appointment as Chief Justice.

READ ALSO: Aggrieved Menzgold customer arrested after he threatened NAM1

The ceremony was well attended by some high profile dignitaries including the Vice President, Dr Mahamudu Bawumia, Chief of Staff Akosua Frema Osei Opare, Ex-Presidents Jerry John Rawlings and John Agyekum Kufour, former First Lady Nana Konadu Agyeman Rawlings, Ministers of State, Justices of the Supreme Court, members of the Judicial Council and General Legal Council. 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here